★
Menu
Home How It's Built Watchlist The Stack
Hardware ChipsCompare Chips Servers & SystemsNetworking MemoryFoundries & Packaging Cooling
Facilities Data CentersPower ProjectsCloud & GPU Compute
Intelligence AI ModelsSoftware AI ProductsBenchmarks Research PapersDatasets Concepts
Ecosystem CompaniesStocks PeopleTimeline TrendsFuture of AI
Learn News Ask the Data AI Agents
About About us Methodology Data & API Disclaimer
Options
DATA & API

Free read-only JSON access to the site's cached data.

Dark mode

Guided View
New to chips, data centers and model jargon? We explain key terms as you browse, in plain English. Same data, with the help built in.

Expert View
You already know the stack. Just the data: clean, fast and compact, with no extra explanations. This is the default view.

Interface language
‹ Back
Home › Chips › NVIDIA H100

NVIDIA H100

Chip GPU Shipping

The GPU of the ChatGPT era — the unit of account for the 2023–25 AI build-out.

You're looking at a chip record: what this processor is, its key specs, who designs, manufactures and supplies its parts, and where it gets used.

Hopper's H100 became the defining commodity of the AI boom: clusters were sized in H100s, startups raised funding denominated in them, and export policy was written around them. Its Transformer Engine pairs fourth-generation tensor cores with FP8 precision, roughly tripling A100 training throughput per chip.

xAI's Colossus assembled roughly 100,000 of them in 122 days; Meta, Microsoft, OpenAI, Google and every major cloud deployed them in the hundreds of thousands. Blackwell succeeded it in 2025, but H100/H200 fleets still carry a large share of world AI compute.

Specifications & key facts

Each figure is labeled by basis: vendor spec, vendor claim, reported, estimate, or official. "Not publicly disclosed" means exactly that — we never invent values.

Overview

Designer NVIDIA
Architecture Hopper (GH100)
Announced March 2022 (GTC); shipping volume from early 2023
Status Shipping — succeeded by Blackwell at the frontier

Manufacturing

Foundry / process TSMC 4N (custom 5 nm-class)Vendor spec
Transistors 80 billionVendor spec
Die size 814 mm²Vendor spec
Packaging CoWoS-S with 5 or 6 HBM stacksVendor spec

Memory

Memory 80 GB HBM3 (SXM); 94 GB HBM3 (NVL); 80 GB HBM2e (PCIe)Vendor spec
Memory bandwidth 3.35 (SXM) / 3.9 (NVL) TB/sVendor spec

Compute

TF32 tensor (dense) 495 TFLOPSVendor spec NVIDIA datasheets often headline throughput with structured sparsity; figures here are dense unless noted.
BF16/FP16 tensor (dense) 990 TFLOPSVendor spec
FP8 tensor (dense) 1,979 TFLOPSVendor spec FP8 via the Transformer Engine was Hopper's signature feature
INT8 tensor (dense) 1,979 TOPSVendor spec
FP64 tensor 67 TFLOPSVendor spec

AI Performance

MLPerf Set the reference results for training and inference benchmarks across 2023–24 submissionsMLPerf

Power

TDP up to 700 (SXM) / 350 (PCIe) WVendor spec

Physical

Form factors SXM5, PCIe, NVL (paired PCIe)
Interconnect NVLink 4 — 900 GB/s; PCIe 5.0Vendor spec

Price

Launch price Not publicly disclosed
Market price ~$25,000–40,000 per GPU at the 2023–24 peakReported
Cloud rental Roughly $2–7 per GPU-hour across major and specialist clouds during 2025 — falling steadilyReported varies with commitment and provider

How this connects to the rest of the stack

This record's links at a glance — click a group to jump to it. +11 more groups below.

Designed by

Manufactured by

Packaging

Packaging provider

Memory technology

Memory supplied by

Interconnect & networking

Supported by

Used to train

Deployed at

Basis for

Succeeded by

Successor to

Sources

NVIDIA H100 page ↗ · Hopper architecture whitepaper ↗

Record reviewed as of 2026-01-15 — see Methodology.