★
Menu
Home How It's Built Watchlist The Stack
Hardware ChipsCompare Chips Servers & SystemsNetworking MemoryFoundries & Packaging Cooling
Facilities Data CentersPower ProjectsCloud & GPU Compute
Intelligence AI ModelsSoftware AI ProductsBenchmarks Research PapersDatasets Concepts
Ecosystem CompaniesStocks PeopleTimeline TrendsFuture of AI
Learn News Ask the Data AI Agents
About About us Methodology Data & API Disclaimer
Options
DATA & API

Free read-only JSON access to the site's cached data.

Dark mode

Guided View
New to chips, data centers and model jargon? We explain key terms as you browse, in plain English. Same data, with the help built in.

Expert View
You already know the stack. Just the data: clean, fast and compact, with no extra explanations. This is the default view.

Interface language
‹ Back
Home › Chips › NVIDIA A100

NVIDIA A100

Chip GPU Prior generation

The Ampere workhorse behind GPT-3-era AI — still deployed in huge numbers.

You're looking at a chip record: what this processor is, its key specs, who designs, manufactures and supplies its parts, and where it gets used.

The A100 carried the industry through the first scaling wave: GPT-3, PaLM-era research and most 2020–2022 frontier training ran on A100 clusters. It introduced TF32 math, multi-instance GPU partitioning and the 80 GB HBM2e variant that defined memory-bound LLM work before the H100 arrived.

Specifications & key facts

Each figure is labeled by basis: vendor spec, vendor claim, reported, estimate, or official. "Not publicly disclosed" means exactly that — we never invent values.

Overview

Designer NVIDIA
Architecture Ampere (GA100)
Announced May 2020 (GTC); 80 GB version November 2020
Status Prior generation — widely deployed

Manufacturing

Foundry / process TSMC N7Vendor spec
Transistors 54.2 billionVendor spec
Die size 826 mm²Vendor spec

Memory

Memory 40 GB HBM2 or 80 GB HBM2eVendor spec
Memory bandwidth 1,555 (40 GB) / 2,039 (80 GB SXM) GB/sVendor spec

Compute

TF32 tensor (dense) 156 TFLOPSVendor spec NVIDIA datasheets often headline throughput with structured sparsity; figures here are dense unless noted.
BF16/FP16 tensor (dense) 312 TFLOPSVendor spec
INT8 tensor (dense) 624 TOPSVendor spec
FP64 tensor 19.5 TFLOPSVendor spec

Power

TDP 400 (SXM) / 250–300 (PCIe) WVendor spec

Physical

Form factors SXM4, PCIe
Interconnect NVLink 3 — 600 GB/s; PCIe 4.0Vendor spec
Partitioning MIG — up to 7 instancesVendor spec

Price

Launch price Not publicly disclosed
Market price ~$10,000–15,000 per GPU during the 2021–22 cycleReported

How this connects to the rest of the stack

This record's links at a glance — click a group to jump to it. +3 more groups below.

Designed by

Manufactured by

Process node

Packaging

Memory technology

Used to train

Basis for

Succeeded by

Successor to

Sources

NVIDIA A100 page ↗

Record reviewed as of 2026-01-15 — see Methodology.